DNSO Names Council Teleconference on December 15th, 1999 - minutes

December 15th, 1999.

Proposed agenda and related documents:


Adopted agenda:

  1. Election of GA Chair for year 2000
  2. Election of NC Chair
  3. Liaison Co-Chair for WG B
  4. Discussion of Budget/Business Plan
  5. Discussion regarding GA Mailing lists
Postponed to the next meeting
  1. Adoption of proposal for new WG to review implementation of UDRP
  2. Discussion of NC Procedural Rules

List of attendees:
   Tony Harris             ISPCP             
   Hirofumi Hotta          ISPCP
   Michael Schneider       ISPCP             absent, replaced by A-K.Orth
   Philip Sheppard         Business
   Masanobu Katoh          Business
   Theresa Swinehart       Business
   (AAA replacement)       Registrars        not yet elected
   Ken Stubbs              Registrars
   Richard Lindsay         Registrars
   Don Telage              gTLD
   Ted Shapiro             IP                absent
   Caroline Chicoine       IP
   Victoria Carrington     IP
   Dennis Jennings         ccTLD
   Patricio Poblete        ccTLD
   Nigel Roberts           ccTLD             absent
   Raul Echeberria         NCDNH             absent
   Kathryn Kleiman         NCDNH
   Youn Jung Park          NCDNH
   Louis Touton            ICANN Legal Counselor
   Andrew McLaugnlin       ICANN Senior Adviser
   Elisabeth Porteneuve    DNSO Secretariat

Youn Jung Park was calling the NC teleconference from Ghana, and had
difficulties to get an US phone number starting with "8xx" (not toll free).
It seems that "8xx" numbers are simply filtered by some telcos.
Youn Jung Park was able to join the teleconference thanks to the help
of Ben Edelman, providing a bridge relay.

Chair Caroline Chicoine (IPC)

Quorum present

  1. Election of GA Chair for year 2000
  2. It was resolved that the election for the GA Chair and the GA Alternate Chair will be done by e-mail, with sequential voting, starting tomorrow, during two days Dec 16th and Dec 17th.

  3. Election of NC Chair
  4. It was felt that the current system with the NC Chair rotating, changing between constituencies each 6 month approx. shall be maintained. Being a Chair is a working position, time consuming, neutral and responsible to all constituencies, not honorous. Whereas some NC members already demonstrated they are indeed able to very well manage meetings, some others are probably as talented, and shall be encouraged. It is foreseen to have an Alternate NC Chair as well. More discussion on that subject will be by e-mail.

  5. Liaison Co-Chairs
  6. Discussion of Budget/Business Plan
  7. Discussion regarding GA Mailing lists
  8. In the debate about alternate possibilities to current mailing lists Don Telage described a web based sofisticated software, with security futures, and different acces offered to different groups of participants.

    Kathryn Kleiman pointed out that hight quality web-based software imply always volume, and most ressources, which subsequently increases a gap between the rich and the poor people access to the Internet. Kathy suggested that more substance on one list, less noise, and the elected GA Chair and Alternate Chair will hopefully bring some authority to the GA-ga list.

    Patricio Poblete observed that tools provide a good fonctionnality, but remain still vulnerable if some decide to sabotage everything.

    Andrew McLaughlin and Louis Touton suggested setting up an agenda to the DNSO as a whole: WG's, GA, NC, everybody, and organizing a work and discussion. The NC should take a leadership in structuring a work and not leave the GA-ga abandonned to the opposition.

    Dennis Jennings made a similar analysis, without a work to do the GA-ga became dominated by crazies.

    It was pointed out that the membership list should be controlled by the NC. Richard Lindsay volounteered to lead the task force on the list issues.

Information from:
DNSO Names Council